A spell scroll is a consumable artifact in the form of a roll of paper.
You can take the Magic (Spellcast) action to cast a spell contained within a spell scroll. The spell must be in your class's spell list and must be of a level equal to your level or lower, unless you make an Intelligence (Arcana) check using your spellcasting ability against a DC of 10 + the spell's level. On a successful check, you cast the spell. The level of the spell scroll determines its spell save DC and spell attack bonus, as shown in the Item Rules table. On a failed check, the casting of the spell fails. Regarless if you succeed or fail on the check, the spell scroll then loses its magic and becomes a level 0 paper.
A wizard spell or a ritual spell on a spell scroll can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the creature must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell's level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll then loses its magic and becomes a level 0 paper.
If the scribed spell is a cantrip, the version on the scroll works as if the caster were level 1.